Registrars Release Results For Local Elections, Hawley HVAC Referendum

Republicans regained seats – and in a number of races, took back majorities on local boards and commissions after all the votes were counted November 2.

Less than 35 out of 100 registered Newtown voters turned out to the polls on Election Day or filed absentee ballots in advance to seat dozens of public officials – many newcomers – who will lead the community over the next couple of years or more.

By the time polls closed, the registrars reported 6,717 registered residents or taxpayers qualified to vote on just the spending authorization for bonding HVAC renovations at Hawley School had cast ballots – representing 34.68% of Newtown’s 19,371 eligible voters.

First Selectman Dan Rosenthal clinched re-election with no opponent, albeit under a new national political affiliation with the SAM (Serve America Movement) Party, as did the two Board of Selectmen candidates, incumbent Democrat Maureen Crick Owen and newcomer GOP candidate Ed Schierloh.

Several other underticket positions were likewise filled by unopposed candidates including three Edmond Town Hall Board of Managers slots, two on the Zoning Board of Appeals, and one Planning & Zoning Commission seat.

Several races featured candidates seeking to transition from other elected posts with Board of Finance members Christopher Gardener and Matt Mihalcik picking up seats on the Legislative Council alongside current Selectman Jeff Capeci who also won a council seat.

Current Board of Education Chair Michelle Embree Ku also ran for and won a council seat, while former school board chairman and current finance board Chairman Keith Alexander came up short in his race for a council seat in District 2.

Incumbent Town Clerk Debbie Halstead also won another term against current council member Jordana Bloom, who will be transitioning off the council along with fellow Democrats Alison Plante and Chris Smith.

And the Board of Education picked up three GOP members with Don Ramsey, Jennifer Larkin, and Janet Kuzma all winning seats.

At approximately 12:30 am Wednesday morning, registrars released results from the community’s three polling locations, and from absentee ballots that were collected up until the time polls officially closed at 8 pm.

According to the local registrars, local vote tallies are as follows — ** indicates the candidate was elected:

Ballot question authorizing Hawley School HVAC funding:

**Yes: 4,023

No: 2,209

First Selectman:

**Dan Rosenthal – SAM Party unopposed – 3,833

Board of Selectman:

**Ed Schierloh – (R) unopposed – 3,236

**Maureen Crick Owen – (D) unopposed – 3,234

Legislative Council District 1:

**Angela Curi (R) 1,151

Peter Schwarz (D) 1,041

**Lisa Kessler (R) 1,199

**Chris Gardner (D) 1,153

**William DeRosa (R) 1,174

Laura Main (D) 1,077

Legislative Council District 2:

**Ryan Knapp (R) incumbent 1,275

Robin Lynch (D) 1,034

**Matthew Mihalcik (R) 1,171

Keith Alexander (D) 1,081

**Charles Gardner (R) 1,156

**Dan Honan (D) incumbent 1,144

Legislative Council District 3:

**Philip Carroll (R) incumbent 1,196

Alison Plante (D) incumbent 946

**Jeffrey Capeci (R) 1,201

Chris Smith (D) incumbent 975

**Tom Long (R) 1,171

**Michelle Embree Ku (D) 1,008

Town Clerk:

**Debbie Aurelia Halstead (R) incumbent 3,900

Jordana Bloom (D) 2,738

Board of Finance:

**John Madzula II (R) incumbent 3,744

**Laura Miller (D) 3,112

**Geoffrey Dent (R) 3,621

John Fletcher (D) 3,074

**Steven Goodridge (R) 3,624

Ned Simpson (D) incumbent 3,082

**Chandravir Ahuja (R) 3,618

**Erica Sullivan (D) 3,182

Board of Education:

**Janet Kuzma (R) 3,638

Jennifer Padilla (D) 3,427

**Jennifer Larkin (R) 3,675

**Dan Cruson, Jr (D) incumbent 3,475

**Donald Ramsey (R) 3,990

Police Commission:

**Scott Cicciari (R) incumbent 3,544

Philip Cruz (D) 3,236

**Brian Budd (R) 3,593

Planning and Zoning Commission (full term):

**Roy Meadows (R) incumbent 3,385

Don Mitchell (D) incumbent 3,014

**Gregory Rich (R) 3,290

Barbara Manville (D) incumbent 3,018

Planning and Zoning Commission (to fill a 2-year vacancy):

**Kersti Ferguson (R) unopposed 4,140

Planning and Zoning Commission alternates:

**Brian Leonardi (R) 3,480

**David Rosen (D) incumbent 3,219

**Connie Widmann (R) 3,787

Andrew Marone (D) incumbent 3,029

Zoning Board of Appeals:

**Rachel Rowan (R) 3,846

**Alan Clavette (D) incumbent 3,357

Zoning Board of Appeals Alternates:

**David Landau (R) 3,563

**Christina Paradis (D) incumbent 3,163

**Tiffany Hawley (R) 3,613

Joe Bojonowski (D) incumbent 3,050

Board of Assessment Appeals (full term):

**Kadri Graffeo (R) 3,280

Ed Randall (D) 3,118

Board of Assessment Appeals (to fill a 2-year vacancy):

**Scott Reiss (R) unopposed 4,171

Edmond Town Hall Board of Managers (full term):

**Marie Smith (R) incumbent 3,275

**Betsy Paynter (D) 3,161

Edmond Town Hall Board of Managers (to fill a 2-year vacancy):

**Armel Kouassi (R) 4,198

The Newtown Bee will present full coverage of the 2021 local elections starting on the front page of the November 5 print edition, and at The outcome of all races on the ballot are not certified until they are reviewed and accepted by the Town Clerk.

From left, Newtown Democratic Town Committee Chairman Eric Paradis, Selectman Maureen Crick Owen, Parks & Recreation Commission Chairman Clinton DePaolo, and Board of Education member Rebecca McKessy tally poll numbers at the Democratic headquarters on Main Street Election Night, November 2. -Bee Photo, Taylor

As votes came in and were projected on a large screen at the Newtown Community Center where local Republican gathered, candidates and supporters cheered and hugged one another while celebrating victories on Election Day, November 2. —Bee Photo, Silber